An extraordinary villa on the waterfront

Villa Balat, regarded as one of the finest houses in Namur, has an exceptional location: between the bridge to Jambes and the Ardennes bridge, offering direct views of the citadel and the Walloon Parliament, at the confluence of the Meuse and Sambre rivers. It is close to the historic centre of Namur, near restaurants, shops and museums. At the edge of the tow-path, it is so close to the water that, from the inside, it’s like being on a boat!

It is right next to the site of "l'Enjambée", the future cyclist and pedestrian bridge linking Jambes to Namur! The house is accessed from the tow-path, on foot, by bike or by car. Vehicles may be parked in Rue Mazy. A small alley perpendicular to Rue Mazy which is an extension of the country path gives access to the garden and tow-path.

Breakfast

You will be served a breakfast of carefully selected tasty local products in the majestic dining-room facing the Meuse between 8 and 10 a.m. For business stays, breakfast time can be changed on request. Feel free to let us know your preferences and any food allergies.

The library: a promise of peace and quiet

In the reading room the atmosphere is worthy of the literary and artistic salons of the early 20th century. This small cosy room is a natural invitation to relax. It’s a true delight to savour your tea or coffee with your head in a book on the terrace overlooking the Meuse, in the warmth of the dying rays of the sun...

In the library, Muriel and Bernard offer access to their many books and magazines on art, history, films, novels, and comic books of course!

Business & business tourism

The dining room and reception room can be rented for seminars of up to 12 people.

The garden

The house has the luxury of a lovely garden in the city. We provide bicycles for wonderful rides. The RAVeL cycle route is accessible from the house.

Events

The three bedrooms and the dining-room can be rented for private events (birthdays, weddings, parties, etc.).

Activities

Namur, capital of Wallonia, has an exceptional location: 30 minutes from the airports of Brussels South Charleroi and Liège, it lies on the waterway connecting Amsterdam, Luxembourg and Cologne. Ranked second among the "smart cities" in Belgium, Namur is breaking new ground in tourism, culture and the economy.

This modernity blends perfectly with "old Namur" where three kilometres of pedestrian streets will delight lovers of art, history and water sports. Gourmets will not be disappointed: the people of Namur love good food!

Gallery

Une villa d’exception les pieds dans l’eau

La Villa Balat, considérée comme l’une des plus belles maisons de Namur est située à un endroit exceptionnel : entre le pont de Jambes et le pont des Ardennes, offrant une vue directe sur la citadelle et le Parlement wallon, à la rencontre de la Meuse et de la Sambre (le Confluent). Elle se situe deux pas du centre historique de Namur, à proximité des restaurants, commerces et musées. Au bord du halage, elle est si proche de l’eau que, de l’intérieur, on a l’impression d’être à bord d’un bâteau !

"L'Enjambée", future passerelle cyclo-piétonne reliant Jambes à Namur viendra mourir à ses pieds ! L’accès à la maison se fait depuis le chemin de halage, à pied, en vélo ou en voiture. Les véhicules peuvent stationner à la rue Mazy. Une petite ruelle perpendiculaire à cette rue et en prolongement de la rue Champêtre accède au jardin et au halage.

Le petit-déjeuner

Composé de savoureux produits du terroir sélectionnés avec soin, il vous sera servi dans la majestueuse salle-à-manger face à la Meuse entre 8h00 et 10 heures. Pour les séjours business, l’heure pourra être adaptée, sur demande. N'hésitez pas à nous faire part de vos désirs et allergies éventuels.

La bibliothèque : une invitation à la quiétude

Il règne dans le cabinet de lecture une ambiance digne des cercles littéraires ou artitistiques du début du XXème siècle. Cette petite pièce chaleureuse invite tout naturellement à la détente. Comme c’est délicieux d’y savourer son thé ou café et de bouquiner sur la terrasse, face à la Meuse, réchauffé par les derniers rayons du soleil …

Dans la bibilothèque, Muriel et Bernard mettent à votre disposition leurs nombreux livres et revues d’Art, histoire, cinéma, romans, et bien entendu bandes-dessinées !

Business & tourisme d'affaires

Location de la salle-à-manger et salle de réception pour les séminaires jusqu’à 12 Personnes maximum. Veuillez nous contacter.

Au jardin

La maison possède le luxe d’un adorable jardin en ville. Profitez des vélos à votre disposition pour de magnifiques balades. Le Ravel est accessible depuis la maison.

événement

Possibilité de louer les 3 chambres et la Salle-à-manger pour un événement privé. (Anniversaire, mariage, fêtes …)

Activités

Namur, capitale de la Wallonie jouit d'une position exceptionnelle : à 30 minutes des aéroports de Bruxelles, Charleroi Sud et Liège, elle se place sur l'axe fluvial connectant Amsterdam, Luxembourg et Cologne. En seconde position dans le classement des "smart cities" de Belgique, cette ville "intelligente" se veut innovante en matière touristique, culturelle et économique.

Cette modernité s'allie parfaitement avec le "Vieux Namur" où trois kilomètres de rues piétonnes raviront les amateurs d'art, d'histoire et de sports nautiques. Les fins gourmets ne seront pas déçus : les Namurois aiment la bonne chère !

Galerie