Félicien Rops

Your room is located on the right bank of the Meuse, offering calm and serenity. The left bank offers many opportunities for partying, like Félicien.

Comfort

The magnificent pink upholstered bed is just waiting for you slip into it. This luxury furniture is the product of English craftsmanship, the stuff of fairy tales. If you need to write or draw like Félicien, an inlaid Louis XV style desk and a small chair from the time of Charles X are at your disposal.

Two Rops prints hang in your room. One is the little-known "Woman with a trapeze" and the other, the famous "Burial in the Walloon country". The bathroom epitomises the painter: exuberant. The claw-foot bathtub is inviting you for a relaxing bath, with foam up to your neck!

You have 28 square metres of private space. The room has a wired internet connection, wi-fi and a smart TV with international channels.

équipements

  • Ass milk soaps
  • Full HD smart TV
  • Wired internet
  • Wi-Fi
  • International channels
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron and ironing board

Gallery

Your hosts

Muriel and Bernard are passionate! Passionate about art, their city, and also life.

Villa Balat is a reflection of their many passions.

They love their city, its heritage and nature, and will invite you to discover the pedestrian streets where you can enjoy a stroll, wonderful unmissable districts, especially the secret and hidden places for which the city on the Meuse is renowned.

They will share their favourites with you for a day of culture, a shopping trip or a recreational and gourmet break. You will love their serenity, their smiles and general good humour!  They are very attentive to their guests, and will make your stay unforgettable!

History

Born in the heart of Namur, Rops continued his education there, notably at the Academy of Fine Arts. He made his first steps as an artist by contributing to student newspapers and Brussels salons where avant-garde ideas were exchanged.

In 1857, he married Charlotte and moved to the Château de Thozée owned by his in-laws. Here he found inspiration, and also travelled a great deal and completed a huge amount of work, in the form of writing, lithography, painting, drawing, watercolours and etching! A sportsman, he founded the Royal Nautical Club of the Sambre and Meuse in 1862. Still active these days, the club organises every summer a descent of the Upper Meuse, from Hastière to Wépion.

Félicien always loved the Meuse, and it was while rowing that he discovered the inn "Au repos des artistes" in Anseremme. For 20 years, he would meet his friends on "L’île de l’Amour" (Love Island), all keen on painting from life and partying.

Though he lived an intense life, he was haunted by the idea of ​​death, that he expressed through the girls he painted, drew, or etched, living a busy worldly life shared between France and Belgium. It was only in 1874 that the "infamous Fély" moved to Paris, fascinated by this hot-blooded mistress, but never stopped relaxing in nature, by the waterside, or in the woods.

Rops

Félicien Rops

Votre chambre, située sur la rive droite de la Meuse vous invite au calme et à la sérénité. La rive gauche, vous offrira de nombreuses occasions de faire la fête, comme Félicien.

Confort

Le magnifique lit capitonné rose n’attend plus qu’une chose, que vous y plongiez. De fabrication artisanale anglaise, ce mobilier de haut standing est digne des contes de fée. Si vous avez besoin d’écrire ou dessiner comme Félicien, un bureau marqueté de style Louis XV et un petit fauteuil datant de l’époque Charles X sont mis à votre disposition.

Deux gravures de Rops garnissent votre chambre. L’une plutôt méconnue : « La femme au trapèze » et le célèbre « enterrement wallon ». La salle de bain est à l’image du peintre : exubérante. La baignoire sur pied n’attend plus que vous pour un bain relaxant, de la mousse jusqu’au cou !

Vous disposez de 28 m2 d’espaces privatifs. La chambre possède une connexion câblée, le wi-fi et une smart TV avec chaînes internationales.

équipements

  • Savons élaborés à l'ancienne "Nez Zen"
  • Smart Tv Full HD
  • Câble internet
  • WiFi
  • Chaînes internationales
  • Sèche-cheveux
  • Fer et planche à repasser

Galerie

Hôtes

Muriel et Bernard sont des passionnés ! Passionnés d’art, de leur ville mais aussi de la vie.

La Villa Balat est à l’image de leurs nombreuses passions.

Amoureux de leur ville, de son patrimoine et de la nature, ils vous inviteront à découvrir les rues piétonnes où il fait bon flâner, les espaces d’exception à ne pas rater et surtout les lieux secrets et cachés qui font la renommée de la cité mosane.

Ils partageront avec vous leurs coups de cœur pour une journée culturelle, une séance shopping ou une pause récréative et gourmande. On les aime pour leur sérénité, leur sourire et leur bonne humeur quotidienne !  Aux petits soins avec leurs hôtes, ils feront de votre séjour un souvenir inoubliable !

Histoire

Né en plein cœur de Namur, Rops poursuit sa scolarité dans la cité mosane, notamment à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts. Il fait ses premières armes artistiques en participant à des journaux et cercles estudiantins bruxellois où s’échangent les idées d’avant-garde.

En 1857, il épouse Charlotte et s’installe au château de Thozée, propriété de ses beaux- parents. Il y trouve l’inspiration, il voyage aussi beaucoup et accomplit un travail gigantesque, menant de front l’écriture, la lithographie, la peinture, le dessin, l’aquarelle et la gravure à l’eau forte ! Sportif, il fonde le Royal Club Nautique Sambre et Meuse en 1862. Toujours en fonction de nos jours, ce club organise chaque été la descente de la Haute-Meuse, reliant Hastière à Wépion.

Eternel amoureux de la Meuse, c'est par la rame que Félicien découvre l'auberge « Au repos des artistes », à Anseremme. Pendant 20 ans, il retrouvera ses amis sur « l’île d’Amour », tous autant motivés par le désir de peindre « sur le motif » que de faire la fête.

S’il vit intensément, il est hanté par l’idée de la mort qu’il exprime par les filles qu’il peint, dessine, ou burine, partageant une vie mondaine bien remplie entre la France et la Belgique. Ce n’est qu’en 1874 que « l’infâme Fély » s‘établira à Paris, fasciné par cette maîtresse ardente mais sans jamais cesser de se ressourcer dans la nature, au bord de l’eau, ou dans les bois.

Rops